Berkana (Reference: 253250)

Add a Review

Average scores

Overall Score
(14 reviews)
Location
Accommodation
Holiday Experience

Please note that the reviews posted on Chez Nous are the opinions of customers who have stated that they have visited this property. In some instances you will also see a response from the owner of the property. None of these are the opinion of Chez Nous and Chez Nous is not liable or responsible for the contents of any review or response.


A lovely stay in beautiful surroundings

Date of stay: July 2019

The gite was perfect for 2, comfortable and well equipped. It was a delight to sit on the terrace in Jane's beautiful garden and lovely to go through the gate from the garden straight on to the canal path. It's a short walk to a choice of restaurants and cafes, and the next village Olonzac is walkable, with a fantastic Tuesday market. Lots of places to visit in the area - we enjoyed Narbonne with its indoor market, cathedral and Roman remains. Thank you Jane for your help and hospitality!

Review by: Steph and Tim

Secluded garden, comfortable studio, lovely host

Date of stay: June 2019

What a glorious 8 days we had! The studio was very comfortable, Jane's garden was quiet and peaceful and, being so close to the canal, the evening walks were a delight! The village, a few hundred metres from Berkana, had everything - a small grocery, a wine warehouse and several excellent restaurants and for more provisions there was a small petrol station/supermarket a few minutes walk away. There is also a small lake nearby with great swimming! Thank you, Jane, for being such a great host!

Review by: Lynne and Rob

A relaxing holiday in a beautiful part of France

Date of stay: June 2019

We enjoyed a wonderful 3 weeks in this gite which is situated in a delightful garden right on the canal. The gite is in a perfect location being 30 minutes from the coast, the mountains and Carcassonne. Jane goes out of her way to help you and is a wealth of knowledge about the local area. Olanzac, the next village, is an easy walk and has a good market every Tuesday. There are a few restaurants within walking distance but we ate al fresco most evenings. A wonderful way to start retirement.

Review by: Sue and John

Beautiful

Date of stay: July 2018

We had a wonderful week in a truly beautiful part of France. Lots of interesting places close by to visit. The gite had everything we needed and was only a short walk into Homps along the canal path and then on to the Lac de Jouarres. Jane, the owner, was extremely welcoming and her knowledge of the area is second to none. The weather was amazing, in fact, a little too hot on one or two days - mid to high 30's! Thank you to Jane, the dogs and the chickens for making our week so enjoyable.

Review by: Karen & Ric

Very Tranquil and pleasant holiday accommodation.

Date of stay: June 2018

Lovely location within 50 metres of the Canal Du Midi, just a 10 minute walk to the canal side restaurant. A very tranquil location and very relaxing. Ideal property for couples. the owner is helpful. I would say that if touring this wonderful area then use of a car is essential. superbly located property for touring the area and seeing all the sights. A very enjoyable Honeymoon in a lovely area. I would recommend this property to couples looking for a relaxed and peaceful holiday.

Review by: Nick Shipsey

Quiet and relaxing

Date of stay: June 2018

Quiet and relaxing holiday in a lovely little gite. Jane is a delight and maintains a beautiful garden. Homps is a good spot to explore the region and has some good restaurants.
Check it out for yourselves - you will not be disappointed

Review by: Ken and Marie

Wonderful

Date of stay: May 2018

We just spent a wonderful week at Berkana. It is in a Beautiful location with so much to do and lots of pretty villages nearby. Jane has such a wealth of local knowledge and made us feel so welcome. The area and especially the garden are havens for local wildlife. A truly relaxing break. We will be returning.

Review by: Victoria Guest

Wonderful location

Date of stay: October 2017

Gite in super garden, ideally placed for exploring or relaxing. Jane has a wealth of knowledge and information about the area and is very helpful. We hope to return soon!

Review by: Sue and Tony

Authentic rural France

Date of stay: September 2017

Great place to stay for a real French experience. Lovely cycling along the Canal du Midi, great local bars and restaurants, and a perfect location for sightseeing. Jane is very helpful and the garden is lovely. Recommended.

Review by: Keith and Marion

Wonderful stay

Date of stay: September 2017

We had a wonderful week in Berkana.
The weather was good, and we got around to see the sights, and buy some wine.
Jane was very helpful and the place was perfect for our stay.

Review by: Peter Logan

A wonderful relaxing stay

Date of stay: August 2017

What a beautiful place. We enjoyed our weeks stay with you. Loved sitting out in the garden relaxing. You have a beautiful home and we loved spending time there. The canal is super definitely recommend the boat trip from Homps. The restaurants are lovely we sampled a couple of them. lots to see around and about. Accommodation was super for a couple or both gites would work for a family or 2 couples. Would love to return. Thank you Jane for a lovely week. Janet and Stephen Jackson

Review by: Janet Jackson

Fantastic stay

Date of stay: August 2017

We had a lovely time at Berkana, very very relaxing, we loved sitting in the secluded garden very peaceful, and very interesting wildlife.
Jane the owner was very friendly and helpful with good suggestions of places to visit.
The accommodation was very comfortable and perfect for 2 people. We would definitely consider revisiting

Review by: Ian Crosland

Delightful and Peaceful accomodation on the Canal Du Midi

Date of stay: August 2017

Jane's studio has the most wonderful garden next to the Canal du Midi, perfect for relaxation and enjoyment. It had all that you needed. The garden was beautiful, with good access for walking and cycling along the canal, and is also near a lake perfect for swimming and many good eating places. Homps itself is very nice, near markets and the coast.The local shop and garage was not overpriced and extremely convenient. We will definitely be returning, thank you so much Jane for a fantastic holiday.

Review by: Jill Eveleigh

Super studio in relaxing garden on banks of canal.

Date of stay: June 2017

This is the only self catering accommodation we have ever returned to, two years in succession! For a couple, the accommodation is ideal, next to the owner's house. Out of the garden gate, on to the Canal tow path and a short walk takes one to a choice of bars/restaurants. The surrounding area is a gem for sightseeing. If assistance is required, the owner, Jane is more than willing to help make your holiday enjoyable. Many a glass we have clinked together!

Review by: Christina Blackburn

Add a review

Thank you for choosing to add a review about Berkana, we value your feedback.

Please note that we only accept reviews from people who have stayed at this property and your review must be true and must be based on your own experience. Please do not quote from other sources or on behalf of any third party.

By submitting your review you agree and confirm that your review:-

  • will be true and fair;
  • will not contain any content that is indecent, obscene or unlawful;
  • will comply with all applicable laws;
  • will not contain any defamatory, false, misleading or untrue content or any content which is abusive, threatening or offensive;
  • will not advertise or publicise any third party;
  • will not be published for payment;
  • will not contain any content which belongs to any third party

We reserve the right to remove, amend, comment on, or correct any reviews at our discretion including any that we suspect are fraudulent, contain threats, use bad language or are inappropriate in any way.

You grant Chez Nous an exclusive, world-wide right to use, broadcast, reproduce and publicly display your review (or any part of it). We may also allow third parties to use and display the review (at our discretion). You confirm that you have the right to grant such licence to us;

Owners will have the right to respond to your review.

Please complete the following.

*

*

*

Date of Stay   *

Ratings
Accommodation
Location
Holiday Experience

*

(max 500 characters) *

Anti-Spam Check Please specify the time in the drop downs as displayed on the clock.
Anti Spam Clock (Black hand)
(Red hand)

/ /    *

Relating to your review, we would like to keep you informed about related offers, news and updates about relevant holiday products and services. You can stop these updates at any point (see our Privacy Policy).




Chez Nous, Stilwell’s Cottages Direct, Cottages Online and Holidaybank are trading names of Vacation Rentals (UK) Ltd

Submit Review